Home

Our house is slowly coming together.  K and I envisioned the house being comfortable, welcoming and reflecting ourselves and our life experiences.  We wanted it to feel like the one place in the world made just for us.  The style of the house has morphed into, what I will call, “sophisticated European rustic”.  If you’ve never heard of this style before, it’s because I just made it up.  I would describe it as Scandinavian minimalist, punctuated by vintage French pieces and anchored by classic pieces in the style of Ralph Lauren.  (I was racking my brain trying to characterize his style – how would you describe it?)

The result: white walls, haberdashery fabrics, wool tartan throws, gold ornate picture frames and reclaimed/industrial elements.  It might sound like a mess, but I think it works (so far!).  I will have pictures up soon, but in the meantime, here are few of the pieces we chose.

French Academie Bed

Side Table

Side Table

Ralph Lauren Modern Equestrian Bridle Leather Side Table

Ralph Lauren Modern Equestrian Bridle Leather Side Table

Restoration Hardware Flatiron Table

Restoration Hardware Flatiron Table

A touch of Ralph Lauren seagrass wallpaper

A touch of Ralph Lauren seagrass wallpaper

I am pleased to announce that after six months and three aborted delivery attempts by Restoration Hardware, our King-size French Academie Bed is scheduled to be delivered on Tuesday (hopefully).

I visited the Toronto International Design Festival yesterday for some inspiration. Tomorrow, I will post details on some of my finds!

8 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. I would love to see photographs. Great pieces – especially the Ralph Lauren table. How would you describe RL you ponder? I may suggest, 1970 country club. Very intentional.

  2. I was at the Design show yesterday too! Too bad we didn’t run into each other.
    Loved the carpets they had on display and some of those beautiful rugged wooden tables.

  3. Pingback: Shakhammer » All About Shabby Chic

  4. I can’t wait to see pictures of your place!! Gosh you’re such a grown-up decorating your house hehe

  5. Can you believe it? It seems like just yesterday that I was sleeping on a futon and eating canned sardines from my living room floor.

  6. Pingback: Update on This Old House | in search of wabi-sabi.

Comments are closed.