Home

Good morning world.

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while.  Why?

I used to love to write.  I wrote with abandon, without being self-conscious about what I was putting down on paper.   At some point, the pressure to write immobilized me (such result being not dissimilar to what happens generally when fear takes hold of me): Was it good?  Was it interesting?  Am I saying something important and meaningful?

But, does it really matter when I am writing for me? After all, given my monkey mind, writing does so much for me.  It allows me to s l o w d o w n, to express the thoughts I cannot speak, to gestate just one of the thoughts swirling in my head, to play with sounds and words and string together lyrical phrases. Or abrupt ones.  Writing is soothing, not unlike a night cap that lulls me to sleep – even if I’m not writing before bedtime.

Somewhere in the blogosphere is my old blog, still active, although untouched for almost five years.  It was with me when I took my first solo trip abroad, when my heart was (what I thought to be irretrievably) broken for the first time and when I amused myself with games of word association and stream of consciousness.   The joy!

So, this blog.  Wordpress (among others) suggests a blog with a clear focus.  However, for now, I can’t wait to express myself with the written word once again – so I’ll wait and see where this baby goes.

Starting Out In The Evening, title of My First Post, is incidentally a wonderful movie about a fictional author with a bout of writers’ block (going on 10 years). Highly recommended.

6 thoughts on “Starting Out In The Evening…

  1. heyyy!! nice first post 🙂

    I havent blogged in 3 years now 😦 I totally empathize with your feeling of immobilization: id add the fear of being misunderstood to the list of reasons…I agree, one should write for oneself and not care about being appealing etc. But its human nature to want appreciation…

    Will check out the movie if I get the time! Another GREAT movie on the same concept is Adaptation, the script written by Charlie Kauffman, who is such a genius. I’d recommend it too!

    Best of luck for your blogging days ahead and I hope you continue writing!

    xx
    Sumit

  2. decorum disappears online, as if not being face-to-face allows on to drop all social graces one would have used otherwise. regardless, even if your ideas are up for debate (as they should be), you are a great writer. always loved your prose and energy. hope you start writing again. i saw adaption – good one!

  3. Welcome back dear! I’m so glad that you’ve decided to resume sharing your thoughts and ideas with the rest of us out here. I’ll be looking forward to your future posts – so keep ’em coming 🙂 ps. thanks for the lovely mention on yesterday’s post.

  4. Great introduction to this wabibito. The description of fear and critique. I find that we often critique oneself much more “abrasively” than others. Be free in your writing and express yourself. It is humbling when you do. I have recently myself turned back to interest in poetry and it surprises me what I am capable of when I look back at my own words. I look forward to future posts, and thank you for introducing this film. I look forward to watching it.

  5. Pingback: She Moves In Mysterious Ways | in search of wabi-sabi.

Comments are closed.