Home

This past Saturday, my future sister-in-law and I dropped into the Toronto International Design Festival at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. Armed with a notebook and camera, I was excited about gathering new ideas for the house and, generally, to see what was new and interesting on the Canadian design scene.

I had not come across Avant-Garde before, but their collection of fresh and colourful fabrics certainly captured my attention at TIDF.  I mentioned to the lovely ladies at Avant-Garde that the prints were “very Sarah Richardson” and they agreed. I can definitely see Ms. Richardson using these fabrics to maximum effect.

One designer that caught my eye was Jason Wheeler of Wheeler’s Studio Furniture (based in Oshawa, Ontario). I was drawn to the unique finish on the door of this credenza, and its modern, industrial vibe.

Jason Wheeler Credenza

I ran into Meghan from Elte, who has helped me tremendously in navigating Elte’s enormous showroom and providing solid design advice. Elte was featuring their line of Second Life Rugs, including this Union Jack rug that I loved so much. The rug comes in a few different sizes, including a practical 4′ x 6′ that would look great in K’s man-cave/basement.  Right, K?  🙂

On the topic of Union Jack’s, UpCountry was showcasing Timothy Oulton’s line, including this gorgeous trunk. I have seen variations on this trunk before, but this one manages to get the colours, textures and details just right.  Another addition to the man-cave, perhaps?

Did you have any favourites from the show?

4 thoughts on “Finds at the Toronto International Design Festival

Comments are closed.