Home

Emilio Pucci

Unequivocally, my favourite collection from Milan this season.  Normally, I put Pucci in the same category as Missoni – two iconic, but outdated, Italian fashion houses.  Missoni print knit poncho, anyone? Another Pucci print kaftan to wear on your yacht in the Mediterranean?  Pucci’s collection this season was anything but redundant.  Dramatic and decadent, with references to a prior era (please don’t ask me which one – Victorian, Edwardian, medieval?  Help!), new dreams are born in dresses like these.


Gucci

I adored this collection’s unconventional colour palette – greens, teals, blues, oranges, reds, purples and greys coming together with striking results.  Gorgeous and luxurious.

Etro

I did not like the entire collection, but a few pieces caught my eye as smart outfits I could wear to the office, but also to a party.  Well, perhaps that fur vest might be pushing it for the office.

Alberta Ferretti

On the face of it, these clothes go against many of my sensibilities, yet somehow they work and I love them. The velvet brocaded boots take me to the world of Marie Antoinette, as interpreted by Sofia Coppola. (Despite Marie Antoinette‘s poor critical reception, I loved that movie – but that is a conversation for another time.)

A short clip from Marie Antoinette, featuring Ceremony by Joy Division.



I cannot wait to review the collections from Paris, historically the source of my favourite collections. Coming soon!

All photos from style.com.

One thought on “Favourites from Milan Fashion Week (F/W2011 RTW)

Comments are closed.