Home

My itunes crashed about seven months ago and I’ve been mourning its loss since. Lucky Man by the Verve is one of my favourite songs. It popped into my mind all of a sudden and I just had to jump out of bed (at 1 am) to listen to it (and post about it)! Music, like the scent of a particular perfume, has the ability to transport me to another place – whether real or imaginary. Lucky Man was an anthem for me in 2008.  I associated the song with certain hopes and dreams. As I listened to it for the first time today in a while, I was brought right back to my feelings at that time.   Yet, as time has passed, and my dreams have come and gone, my feelings right now are tinged with bittersweetness and mono no aware – the acceptance of the transient nature of life.

Official video is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qujfdzLJPyU. Embedding was disabled. I LOVE this video, especially at the end when they are celebrating one of the few sunny days in London, and holding a picture frame up to the view of the Thames! Magical.

3 thoughts on “Mono No Aware and being a Lucky (wo)Man

  1. Wonderful song, wonderful band, wonderful post. At 1am you write with great energy! The song must excite you. As you reload your itunes look up “velvet morning”, also by the Verve and one which leaves an impression upon me. (also i very much like how you include (wo) in front of man to your headline).

Comments are closed.