Home

My Dear Jim post reminded me of Alanis Morissette’s Unsent, a favourite song of mine that begins with “Dear Matthew, I like you a lot…”.  You can read into it what you will, but I identify a lot with Alanis.  I adore the honesty and vulnerability in her music and in her interviews.

In Unsent, Alanis reminisces about the men in her life and the unique experiences she had with each of them.  In that respect, every woman could write her own Unsent. But what makes this song special is the thoughtfulness in which she reflects upon her experiences.

This song reminds that, despite the fact that almost all of our relationships will inevitably come to an end, all of them can teach us something about ourselves and about life, never mind the joys we experience whilst in them.

I look back on most of my past relationships with great fondness (admittedly, there were a couple that I have tried to erase from my memory), notwithstanding the (what felt at the time to be) unbearable heartbreak, confusion and insecurity.  There was the one who tried to push my boundaries too far for my liking, the one with whom I could bare my soul to but I was too immature to deal with it and the one with whom my deepest insecurity became apparent to me.  And, of course, there was the one that it wasn’t meant to work out with.

But I wouldn’t trade my time with them for anything. I grew so much from them and they have shaped me into the person I am today.  No regrets.

For the record, Jim and I never dated :).

3 thoughts on “Dear Matthew…

  1. Thank you for this post! I had to look up the lyrics and I felt a bit invigorated reading it. (http://www.elyrics.net/read/a/alanis-morissette-lyrics/unsent-lyrics.html) I think there is also a song from a different era that says “breaking up is hard to do” but it may be as I infer from your note, harder to learn from it. Much too often it is easy yo sweep that bit of history under a mat… And not gain grom it. Thank you again for this post and sharing your song 🙂

Comments are closed.