Home


Dear readers, I got engaged over the weekend.

In the spirit of the engagements and weddings, I was planning to post my thoughts on the tradition of the diamond engagement ring, but then I saw the pictures that came out from Givenchy’s Fall 2011 Haute Couture show today. The ring post will have to wait. Today will be about dresses, or more specifically, dresses that were not intended to be, but can be, dammit, should be, worn down the aisle!

I appreciate that weddings (and ideally, the marriage itself) are amongst life’s most significant events and, accordingly, a lot of time and money is often invested into them. Yet, I always have wondered why someone would spend $5,000 to $10,000+ on a Pnina Tornai wedding dress at Kleinfeld, when they could invest in an haute couture gown such as the ones in this collection.  (Cavaet: I do not know how much these dresses cost (yet), but you get my point).  The collection was comprised of 10 full-length, whitish dresses, all of which were exquisitely crafted, works of art – and all of which I would wear down the aisle in a heartbeat.  Step aside Pnina ballgown.

By the way, it appears that Riccardo Tisci may also have been inspired by Wallace Simpson’s wedding dress – just as I was.

All images from style.com.

13 thoughts on “Givenchy – Fall 2011 Haute Couture

  1. Pingback: COUTURE – Fall 2011: Armani Privé | Twisted sunshine .. ♥

  2. Thanks so much Beth :). Despite the matter-of-factness in my post, I’m beaming inside :)). Will definitely be writing about the journey!

  3. Pingback: COUTURE – Fall 2011: Givenchy | Twisted sunshine .. ♥

  4. Rings!!!! I LOVE rings. Looking forward to reading your post.
    As for the dresses, this is such a good idea. But dont you think they cost more than 5,000 / 10,000?
    Pictures taken under a bridge in Paris 🙂
    My Irene, Congrats again. I’ll call you tonight.
    Big bisoussss

    • :D.

      For sure. I think these particular dresses are at least $20,000 each. My point was that you could find a designer dress in the $5,000/$10,000+ range no problem, and you could find couture dresses in that range as well.

      I don’t know if you have this show in France, but its called “Say Yes to the Dress”? It’s about girls looking for their wedding dress at a boutique in NYC called Kleinfeld. Anyway, girls often come in spending $5,000 + on dresses, and a good number going $10,000 +.

  5. OMG Irene!! Congratulations!! 😀 I’m really excited to hear about your wedding journey. The couture dresses are so unique yet FABULOUS (especially Givenchy5 pic but I like ’em all!). You will be a beautiful bride!

  6. !! I loved this collection too. Any of these dresses would be exquisite for your wedding!

Comments are closed.