Home

My sister-in-law recently informed me that the process of getting a wedding dress can take between eight to 10 months.  What? Eight to 10 months?  My life is not even planned that far in advance.  A brief wave of panic came and went, and with time ticking away (har har), I began looking at wedding dresses online.  Given that weddings are a $40B per year industry, not surprisingly, that approach was overwhelming and ineffective. As a result, I have decided to forsake the shotgun approach, and consider for a moment, what I have envisioned my wedding dress would look like.

To the extent that I have thought about this topic in the past (not much), the image that most frequently appeared in my mind was in the spirit of a dramatic Christian Dior gown with an equally dramatic Philip Treacy hat.

Christian Dior Haute Couture 1999

Christian Dior Haute Couture 1999

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2009

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2009

The dress did not look like a wedding gown and often was not white (or a variation thereof). The dress was modern, but clearly referenced and respected the history that came before it.  Beneath the drama, was a classically cut gown and, interestingly, almost always included long sleeves and a high neckline.

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2011

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2011

Christian Dior Haute Couture 1998

Christian Dior Haute Couture 1998

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2007

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2007

Alexander McQueen

Alexander McQueen

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2005

Christian Dior Haute Couture 2005

In contrast to the aforementioned, I have often pictured myself in dress having a ethereal feel.

John Galliano

John Galliano

Balenciaga

Balenciaga

As I wrote this post, what I am looking for in a dress has become a little bit more clear.  Most of my choices are relatively conservative and it would not surprise me if that is a reflection of my underlying belief in the gravity of a wedding, and by extension, a marriage.  I have a clear preference for a classic silhouette that nips me at the waist, which is probably just me knowing my body-type.  Romanticism and fantasy are heavily present, but so is the ethereal.  I am such a contradiction.

Does this dress exist? Even if it doesn’t, it was a very useful exercise. 🙂

All John Galliano and Christian Dior photos were sourced from here.  As the site name contains an expletive, I won’t write the name of the blog, but if you are a JG/CD fan, it is a MUST visit!

5 thoughts on “And So It Begins…

  1. Could contradiction be part of your style? Your dress exists, and if it doesn’t you will find a way to make it. No pressure… really… but I do look forward to seeing you walk down the aisle in your pick!

  2. I agree with Vesna, and I too look forward seeing you in your dress walking down the aisle.
    Beautiful post!
    To lighten the pressure some bridal boutiques can order in a dress in 5 months, LOL!

  3. Pingback: Melissa and Irene, Street Style and Wedding Dresses « in search of wabi-sabi.

Comments are closed.