Home
photo credit: Melissa Sung

photo credit: Melissa Sung

I was extremely pleased with my first collaboration with Melissa Sung for Geeky Chic. We are definitely a great team! Mel doing what she does best, taking beautiful photos, and me doing what I do best, freely (s)talking up random strangers on the street.

Check out one of our captures, make-up artist, Ashley Lovsin (left).  Ashley was joyful spirit and so much fun to get to know.  Have you ever noticed that almost everyone says that McDonald’s is gross and that they would never eat it? Please. Why deny it – who doesn’t crave a double cheeseburger every once in a while? I love our capture of Ashley getting caught with her hand in the cookie jar!

Vera Wang Evelyn dress

Vera Wang Evelyn dress

Photographs and stories from today will be posted on Geeky Chic in the coming days.

Mel and I had planned to meet in Yorkville at noon, but Mel got caught up last minute with her visiting relatives. Having already arrived to Yorkville, I was left with a couple of hours to kill and ended up, for the first time in my life, in the nearby bridal salons, specifically White and Vera Wang.

Instead of feeling overwhelmed like yesterday, the experience confirmed to me that the dresses on display were not for me.  The vast majority of them just had too much fabric for my liking.  However, I did try on one dress at Vera Wang which I thought was lovely (right), which incidentally, looks very similar to the dress my (soon-to-be) sister-in-law will be wearing.

Edward and Wallis Simpson

Edward and Wallis Simpson

I am beginning to think that my initial instincts are probably close to what I am looking for. A structured jacket/bodice, long sleeves, a high neckline and a lean skirt. Wallis Simpson 2.0. And I mean with respect to the dress only!